Special Session: Auto-Tuning for Multicore and GPU (ATMG) In conjunction with the IEEE MCSoC-16 at Lyon Congress Center, Lyon, France.

Computer architectures and computer systems are becoming increasingly complex. Multicore processors and heterogeneous computing systems equipped with accelerators pose demanding challenges to programmers when optimizing the performance of their codes. Auto-tuning is a promising technology for tackling these challenges. Several methodologies and auto-tuning approaches have been proposed, especially for numerical computations. More recently, the applicability of auto-tuning has been extended to other areas of computer science and engineering, from embedded systems to extreme scale computing systems.


  • ATMG2016 has successfully finished. Thanks for your interesting.
  • April 3: Sumission due was extended to April 30.
  • March 12: Sumission due was extended to March 31.
  • June 30: Notification of acceptance has announced. Camera ready deadline is July 20.
  • July 14: The preliminary program is released and "Advanced Rate" registration has begun at MCSoC main conference webpage.
  • Sep 20: The final program has published at MCSoC main conference webpage and this page.

Topics of Interest

Papers are solicited in following areas of auto-tuning technologies for multicore and GPU/MIC computing, but not limited to:

  • Optimized Algorithms for Numerical Libraries
  • Automatic Code Generation and Empirical Compilation Hybrid Programming for Threads and Processes
  • Communication Optimization
  • Mixed Precision and Accuracy Assurance for Numerical Computing
  • Power Consumption Optimization
  • Fault Tolerance


Submission information including paper format and submission site is listed here.

  • Each submitted paper will be reviewed by at least three reviewers and will be evaluated based on originality, relevance to the session's theme, organization, and technical quality.
  • Submission of a paper implies that at least one of the authors will register for the symposium at the full rate and an author will present the paper.
  • The papers should be prepared according to the IEEE CS format, and no longer than 8 pages.
  • Proceedings of the symposium will be published by IEEE Computer Society Press.
  • Online submission site:

Important Date

Paper submission due:March 25, 2016
March 31, 2016
April 30, 2016
Author notification:Until June 30, 2016
Camera ready manuscript:July 20, 2016
MCSoC-16 Date: September 21-23, 2016
Session Date: September 22, 2016


Session1: 22nd 11:00-12:40

Chair: Toshiyuki Imamura (RIKEN, Jaan)

  • 11:00   Faster method for tuning the tile size for tile matrix decomposition: Tomohiro Suzuki
  • 11:25   Auto-Tuning TRSM with an Asynchronous Task Assignment Model on Multicore and Multi-GPU Systems: Murilo Boratto, Pedro Alonso, Domingo Gimenez
  • 11:50   On constructing cost models for online automatic tuning using ATMathCoreLib: Seiji Nagashima, Takeshi Fukaya, Yusaku Yamamoto
  • 12:15   Autotuning of a Cut-off for Task Parallel Programs: Shintaro Iwasaki, Kenjiro Taura

Session2: 22nd 16:30-18:10

Chair: Satoshi Ohshima (The University of Tokyo, Japan)

  • 16:30   A Performance Model and Efficiency-Based Assignment of Buffering Strategies for Automatic GPU Stencil Code Generation: Yue Hu, David Koppelman, Steven Brandt
  • 16:55   Meta-Programming and Multi-Stage programming for GPGPUs: Ian Masliah, Marc Baboulin, Joel Falcou
  • 17:20   Automatic Thread-Block Size Adjustment for Memory-Bound BLAS Kernels on GPUs: Daichi Mukunoki, Toshiyuki Imamura, Daisuke Takahashi
  • 17:45   A Code Selection Mechanism Using Deep Learning: Hang Cui, Shoichi Hirasawa, Hiroyuki Takizawa, Hiroaki Kobayashi

Previous Events

  • ATMG2015, Turin, Italy, September 23-25, 2015.
  • ATMG2014, Aizu-Wakamatsu, Japan, September 23-25, 2014.
  • ATMG2013, Tokyo, Japan, September 26-28, 2013.
  • ATMG2012, Aizu-Wakamatsu, Japan, September 20-22, 2012.


Program Chair:
Satoshi Ohshima (The University of Tokyo, Japan)

Program Vice-Chair:
Christophe Calvin (CEA, France)

Program Committee:
Akihiro Fujii (Kogakuin University, Japan)
Daisuke Takahashi (University of Tsukuba, Japan)
Domingo Gimenez (University of Murcia, Spain)
Franz Franchetti (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Hiroyuki Takizawa (Tohoku University, Japan)
Hisayasu Kuroda (Ehime University, Japan)
Osni Marques (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
Reiji Suda (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
Serge Petiton (University of Lille 1, Sciences and Technologies, France)
Takahiro Katagiri (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
Thomas Fahringer (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
Tony Drummond (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
Toshiyuki Imamura (RIKEN, Japan)
Weichung Wang (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
Yusaku Yamamoto (The University of Electro-Communications, Japan)